Asahi Cocktail Partner Fuwarich Cassis Orange (New Version) / アサヒカクテルパートナー フワリッチ カシスオレンジ

Alcohol: 4% (14 ml)
Quantity: 350 ml can
Calories: 161 calories
Sugar: 23.8 grams
Price: MSRP 141 yen (104 at AEON)
Official Site: http://www.asahibeer.co.jp/products/sour/cocktailpartner/

Sometimes a chuuhai just falls through the cracks…

I was certain that I had reviewed Asahi’s Cassis Orange chuuhai, but an exhaustive search of my records shows I had not. I definitely bought it and photographed it, so likely I intended to review it but got distracted and ended up it confusing it with Suntory’s Cassis Orange.

Asahi’s take on the most popular cocktail among Japanese women is much sweeter than the reduced-sugar Suntory version. At 6.8 grams per 100 ml, it’s not as disgustingly sweet as 10 or higher beverages can be, but nonetheless it’s pretty intense. The can advertises that the sensation of juiciness has been increased with this version, but since I lack the original on hand, I can’t remember the difference.

I’m of mixed minds on this drink. I do enjoy the richness of its body and the flavor, but the sickeningly sweetness is just too much for my palate.

Leave a Reply

