Kirin Fragrant True Deep Plum Wine (Soda-mixed) /キリン香りまっこい梅酒(ソーダ割り)

Alcohol: 4% (14 ml)
Quantity: 350 ml
Sugar:  33.95g
Calories: 217 kcal
Price: 129 yen at Kakuyasu
Official Site: http://www.kirin.co.jp/brands/sw/maccoi/index.html

I had to drink the Torys Highball to get to this; it had better be good! Just kidding. I like umeshu and I’m a sucker for the adjective “koi” (dense/rich) 濃い. My favorite beverage is Itouen’s Rich Green Tea. But I was aware from the start that this umeshu might not exactly be for me because it has almost 10 grams of sugar per 100 mls.

True to its name, this truly has a deep, rich flavor. It is high in sugar, but it is also high in flavor, so it’s a good trade off, and I’ll give this one a passing grade. I’m curious about the yuzu version.

Leave a Reply

